Facebook Twitter Instagram

Make Your Career Here
Image of SD

Crow Creek Sioux Tribe

Reservation: Crow Creek Reservation; Buffalo, Hyde, and Hughes Counties
Division: Santee, Yankton
Bands: Mdewakanton (People of Spirit Lake), Ihanktonwan (People of the End)
Land Area: 125,591 acres
Tribal Headquarters: Ft. Thompson, SD
Time Zone: Central
Traditional Language: Dakota
Enrolled members living on reservation: 1,230
Major Industry: Agriculture
Crow Creek Sioux Tribe's 2010 Statistical Profile (PDF)



Charter: None
Constitution and Bylaws: Yes
Date Approved: April 26, 1949
Name of Governing Body: Crow Creek Sioux Tribal Council
Number of members: six (6) council members
Dates of Constitutional amendments: February 25, 1963, June 23, 1980, February 4, 1986
Number of Executive Officers: (1) Chairman


Crow Creek Constitution (PDF)

Current Tribal Leaders (pdf)


The Tribal Chairman and all other positions are elected every two years and elections are not staggered.
Primaries occur in March and General Elections taking place in June.
The Tribal Council appoints the Vice-Chairman, Secretary, and Treasurer from among their membership.
The chosen individual serves for two years.
The Chairman is elected at-large.

Number of Election districts or communities: 3

Current Tribal Leaders (PDF)


Regular meetings are held once a month.

Quorum number: 4 members

Notable Tribal Members

Oscar Howe, a Yanktonai, pioneered a new era in Indian art. Howe was born on the Crow Creek Reservation in 1915. Throughout his life, he received many honors, including the title Artist Laureate of South Dakota. When he died in 1983, Howe left behind a legacy of cultural heritage and pride. More than 20 Oscar Howe originals are on display at the Oscar Howe Art Center in Mitchell.

Elizabeth Cook-Lynn taught native studies for 20 years before becoming a full-time writer. She is the author of two novels and a collections short stories. She edits the "Wicazo Sa (Red Pencil) Review," an international Native American studies journal. She's also a traditional dancer on the powwow circuit. Cook-Lynn grew up on the Crow Creek Reservation.

Current Chairman: Peter Lengkeek

Tribal Contact Information

Visit the Crow Creek Sioux Tribe Website


PO Box 50
Ft. Thompson, SD 57339-0050
Phone (605) 245-2221
Fax (605) 245-2789