Facebook Twitter Instagram

Make Your Career Here
Image of SD

Lower Brule Sioux Tribe

Reservation: Lower Brule Reservation; Lyman and Stanley Counties
Division: Teton
Bands: Sicangu (Brule or Burnt Thigh)
Land Area: 132,601 acres
Tribal Headquarters: Lower Brule, SD
Time Zone: Central
Traditional Language: Lakota
Enrolled members living on reservation: 1,308
Major Employers: Lower Brule Sioux Tribe, Lower Brule Sioux Tribe Golden Buffalo Casino, Bureau of Indian Affairs, Indian Health Service. The Lower Brule Farm Corp. is the nation's number-one popcorn producer.
Lower Brule Sioux Tribe's 2010 Statistical Profile (pdf)


Charter: Yes; Constitution and Bylaws: Yes - IRA
Date Approved: October 5, 1935
Name of Governing Body: Lower Brule Sioux Tribal Council
Number of council members: (3) three Councilmen
Dates of Constitutional amendments: June 17, 1974; September 2, 1986
Number of Executive Officers: (4) Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Treasurer, and Secretary

Lower Brule Tribal Constitution(PDF)


Current Tribal Leaders


Lower Brule does not have voting districts and all representatives are voted for "at-large."

All Representatives serve 2 year terms. Elections are not staggered, so all elections occur simultaneously.

Number of Election districts or communities: One

Current Tribal Leaders


Meetings are held the first Wednesday of each month.
Quorum number: five members

Education and Media

Tribal College: Lower Brule Community College, Lower Brule SD

Notable Tribal Members

Chief Iron Nation (1815-1894) led the Lower Brule Sioux Tribe through some of its most challenging years. He worked diligently, both as a warrior and statesman, to ensure the survival of his people. Iron Nation signed the treaty to establish the Great Sioux Reservation in 1868. He has been described as a just and noble leader.

Chairman: Boyd I. Gourneau

Tribal Contact Information

Visit the Lower Brule Sioux Tribe Website


PO Box 187
Lower Brule, SD 57548-0187
Phone (605) 473-5561
Fax (605) 473-5606